Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman

23719270

*I wrote this review July 2015. I read this book as an ARC. I have not edited this review since. I am excited for Retribution Rails.

Okay, so this is one of those books that's really hard to review. Because on one hand, I want to tell you every single detail about this book and explain each moment and why I loved it so much, but then I'd completely spoil the whole book for you...on the other hand, I don't want to be too vague and just say YOU NEED THIS BOOK RIGHT NOW (although that is completely true).

So maybe I should start with this:
I read Taken by Erin Bowman, and honestly, it wasn't my favorite book. Frozen has been in my TBR pile for ages, but I haven't gotten to it yet. That being said, I was super nervous about reading Vengeance Road, because heck, I don't even LIKE WESTERNS. But the story looked so interesting, and the cover is gorgeous, and well, what the heck.

And holy crap, have I enjoyed this book!

Kate is an awesome character to follow. With her thirst for vengeance and her strong personality, it was impossible not to love her. All her emotions were so raw and real that there were SEVERAL times where I had to put my iPad down and take a deep breath. I was so overwhelmed with my own emotions that I couldn't bear to read Kate's. Erin had me an emotional wreck the entire time I read, and it was awesome.

I don't think there was a single thing that I did not enjoy about this book. It was a great, fun read, and everything was just write. The characters were well developed AND had amazing character growth. I was worried I'd go crazy because of the way this novel is written (yers, and I's, and weren't s galore!) but it was absolutely perfect and helped me get into the story so much more.

So my finally thoughts?

If you like Westerns,
If you don't like Westerns,
If you loved the Taken trilogy,
If you didn't love the Taken trilogy,
If you don't even know about the Taken trilogy,
If you don't read YA,
YOU NEED THIS BOOK.

NEED.

*Thank you to HMH Books for Young Readers & Netgalley for providing me with an ARC in exchange for my honest opinion.
Leave a Reply

