Mad Miss Mimic by Sarah Henstra

23655201

*I read this book January 2017. I read it as an ARC.

3.5 stars
Mad Miss Mimic is definitely a unique story, following a girl who stutters but also has the ability of mimicking voices. I definitely had not read anything like it, and for that alone, I'd recommend it.
However, I felt like the story fell short, and where it started interesting and engaging, it didn't excel at the end. The dialogue became awkward once the author needed to tie things up, give people motives, etc. There were times where the dialogue was spot on, though, and made me laugh or happy sigh. Overall, this book was entertaining, but not grand.
This book is pitched as Jane Austen meets Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I think it's more Doyle than Austen, and I felt misled. While there is romance, it's not a focus and felt kind of added into the story.
If historical stories are your thing, I'd recommend for you to give it a try. If you're looking for a love story, I'd pass this one up.
Leave a Reply

