These Vicious Masks by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas

23688792

*I read this book in July of 2016. I read an arc. I never reviewed it until now. I have on good information that book 2 (out March 14th) is as good as the first.

For some reason, unknown to me, I haven’t reviewed this book. It’s odd, because I gush over it a lot. Every time someone tells me they’re thinking about picking it up, I scream, “DO IT!” It happens often.

These Vicious Masks is pitched as Jane Austen meets Xmen, and it lives up to the hype (even though I haven’t seen the Xmen movies). This novel manages to mix the delicious thrill of Austen England with super powers…and romance.

I suck at describing plot and always feel like I’m giving too much away (I like going into my books with no inkling of what’s happening until I start reading), so I’ll be brief.

Tired of the expectations of society, Evelyn finds herself suddenly thrown into the unknown as she looks for her sister, who has vanished. Along the way, she meets certain gentlemen who open her eyes to the reality of the world she lives in…one that includes superpowers.

My summary doesn’t give the book enough credit. TRUST ME IT’S A GREAT BOOK.

One of my favorite aspects of this novel is the dialogue. Dear Lord, I would sell my first born child to be able to write witty dialogue like this. If I highlighted books, I’d highlight this one all over. However, that didn’t stop me from excessively quoting on Goodreads.

screen-shot-2017-02-26-at-7-54-47-pm

I love this book. It’s next to me right now, and I just want to pick it up and read it again. The characters are endearing, our heroine is strong and bold and fights for what she wants. The boys are swoony and charming and everyone, and I mean everyone, is witty as heck.

Word of warning, this book will make you desperate for book 2. I woke my sister up to tell her the end because my mind and heart couldn’t process it. It was spectacular.

You want this book. And this month it’s $2.99 on kindle, so you have no excuse.

*I’ll be reviewing These Ruthless Deeds soon .

7 thoughts on “These Vicious Masks by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas

  1. I’m reading this book right now and it’s so good!!! Evelyn’s wit is hilarious! My favorite quote is this:
    Mother: “You are not going to London!”
    Evelyn: “I believe I am.”
    Mother: “No. I won’t have you running around there and jeopardizing everything for us.”
    Evelyn: “Then I won’t run around. I’ll walk.”
    Evelyn is so funny! And Mr. Kent is so much like me, especially when he tried to explain how he figured out the druggist Mortimer had a daughter. I’m loving it right now! 😂

    Like

    1. Awesome! I should probably check that blog tour out. I was lucky enough to read These Ruthless Deeds and my review should go up the 13th and I can tell you, you won’t be disappointed. It’s so good!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

