These Ruthless Deeds by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas

30199421

*I read this in January 2017. I read it as an arc. As always, this is my honest opinion. This is book 2. These Vicious Masks review here.

Confession: I read this book in the midst of a really busy week because I could not hold off my excitement. I absolutely adored These Vicious Masks and the cliff-hanger ending made me scream and cry and it was perfect. So, obviously, my expectations for These Ruthless Deeds were high. This book needed to be as witty and fun as the first book, but the stakes in this book are higher, so it had to achieve both successfully…and it did.

Obviously, if you haven’t read These Vicious Masks this review of the second book will be spoilery to events from the first book. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. However, for the month of March, These Vicious Masks is only $2.99 on amazon kindle, so have at it.

On to my terrible summary:

After the jarring, traumatizing ending of These Vicious Masks, Evelyn and friends are trying their best to use their powers for the good of everyone. In the process, they find an answer to their questions, a solution to their problems, and a new purpose…but can everything be so perfect when you’re dealing with superpowers?

This book had me in love and hooked from the first sentence in the first chapter. In fact, I loved it so much, I’m going to share it, because it made me laugh.

*Note, this is a quote from the uncorrected arc, and is subject to be different in the final copy. However, I don’t think it will because it’s genius.

 “This was a terrible plan.”
“Evelyn, it’s your plan.”

The wit is strong with this one, and it’s nonstop through this book. The dialogue is what sold me in the first book, and it continues in this one. The banter between Evelyn and Mr. Kent and Mr. Braddock still remains perfect and snarky.

It’s nice seeing this characters develop and seeing new ones introduced. I feel like everyone has a solid reason to be present, and their motivations are their own. Each character has a purpose within the story. It’s a rather seamless narrative.

If you enjoyed Mr. Kent’s truth telling ability…boy is it so much fun! I will forever love Sebastian  Braddock (I mean, come on, he’s the prettiest), but Mr. Kent has a special place in my heart as well. It’s rare that I love characters as much as I love Evelyn, Kent, and Braddock, but this is what happens when you have defined characters with personalities outside of each other.

Overall, I adored this book, and I cannot wait for the next one.

 

Happiest book birthday to These Ruthless Deeds! Welcome to the world, you beautiful, wonderful thing.

One thought on “These Ruthless Deeds by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas

Leave a Reply

