Caraval by Stephanie Garber

27883214*I read this in February 2017. I am reviewing it now. I read it as a hardcover. I was hesitant to go in because of all the hype, but was not disappointed. This is my honest opinion.

To say that I was almost afraid going into this book is an understatement. This book has been everywhere. Several people I follow on Twitter bought various copies. Most people have been praising this book for months. When books get that hyped, I’m usually in the minority.

I remember when Illuminae came out and I hesitated reading that one too, because hype. I love Illuminae, and I love Caraval.

Super awkward summary:

Scarlett and Tella, two sisters who live on a tiny, unimportant island, fearing their father, suddenly find themselves a world away from home, at Caraval. A game like no other, Caraval invites its players to lose themselves in the thrill of the hunt, but sometimes, one can lose themselves too much. When Scarlett’s time in Caraval takes unexpected turn after turn, she must search deep within to find the courage to beat the game.

The hype is real. Caraval is engaging. I could not put it down. The world is vivid and enthralling. You get sucked into the magic of Caraval and get caught up in the games.

Scarlett is a great character, with realistic flaws and thought processes. Sometimes she makes decisions that seem ridiculous, but really, you would have done the same? It was fun to be inside her head, you felt her hurts and fears.

The romance in this story is perfect. It’s swoony and frustrating, awkward and hilarious, challenging and emotional. It’s the kind of romance that keeps you reading. It’s full of magic.

I can’t say anything that hasn’t already been said. There’s hundreds of reviews of Caraval, but it’s definitely worth the hype.

 

2 thoughts on “Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Leave a Reply

