Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

28114396

*I read this in March 2017. I wrote this review the same day I finished it. I read it as an arc. It was a struggle to finish it. As always, this is my honest review.

I’m going to be honest guys, I finished this book simply because the publisher suggested this book to me through Netgalley, so I gave it a shot. But right away, I knew this book wasn’t the one for me. I gave it 1.5 stars on Goodreads simply because this book is probably one of the most generic, bland, boring books I’ve read in a long time.

Summary:

Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.
However, it’s not so simple.
The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force.

This novel is a prime example of what happens when you tell instead of show: you get a bored reader. I guessed every plot twist, said words before the characters said them, and generally spent my time rolling my eyes at Britta’s ramblings or else, face palming.

I’ve never read a character with such slow reaction times. Bella Swan has better deduction skills. It was honestly frustrating because this story had potential of being a good fantasy novel. It wouldn’t have been anything extraordinary, but it would have been a fun fantasy read. As it was, it was just…meh.

It’s hard taking a book seriously when there are lines like:

“Somehow I free myself of the guards.” (This is an arc quote, so it might have changed when published. I don’t have a final copy on hand to verify this). The casual use of somehow pained me when I read it. This is right at the beginning, too. SOMEHOW?!

“”My name is Essa.” It’s all I could come up with on the spot and immediately regret as my response pricks through me. It’s too close to Enat.” (Also arc quote subject to change). I read this to my sister. Her reaction was along the lines of….”IN WHAT PLANET ARE THOSE EVEN REMOTELY RELATED?” Apparently, since it’s a 4 letter word, that starts with E, and has an A in it, the names are close.

“It seems so obvious now, but I swear, it never entered my mind.” (Also arc quote, subject to change). This is after a “big” reveal that I saw coming from a mile away.

Quite frankly, this novel reads like the author was making it up as she went, which is fine, but then never edited it before publication. There’s a good story in here…somewhere. But no one took the time to mine it out, which is sad.

One thought on “Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

Leave a Reply

