FrostBlood by Elly Blake

27827203

*I read this in January 2017. I wrote the review in January. I read it as an arc. As always, this is my honest opinion.

3.5-3.75 stars.

As far as YA fantasy novels go, this one is pretty similar to what you’d expect. The tropes of the chosen one, of tragic backstories, and unresolved emotions are present. There are differences, of course, things that make Frostblood stand out in a world of similar stories. This book is good, but it’s not the greatest book I’ve read.
There were a lot of info dumps, lots of mythology and stories that didn’t flow too well, at a time that didn’t make me want to remember because although I knew it would be relevant, it didn’t seem relevant at the time.
The plot is fairly predictable but fun and entertaining enough to keep you reading. There were one or two things that I had not seen coming, but overall, I could have told you how it ends.
The story definitely has its moments of high tension and stress, and it weaves an interesting narrative and leads you to places you wouldn’t expect. Overall, it was enjoyable, and anyone who likes fantasy would most likely enjoy it.
I am aware that this is a series, but with the ending that was given, I’m not sure where the other books might go. Frostblood ended in such a way as to give the illusion of a standalone.

*I was given a free ebook by Little Brown Books for Young Readers and Netgalley

Leave a Reply

