Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

blackhearts-9781481432696_hr

*I read Blackhearts in March 2017. I reviewed it the same day I finished. I read it in hardcover. I finished it in a couple of hours. This is my honest opinion.

I had no idea what I was getting into when I started this book. From the first chapter, I was in love with the story and with Anne and Teach. And then…I couldn’t read until around midnight and then I took a break and then it was 2:30 and I was tired but I decided to read one more chapter…and then another…and then it was 4:30 and I was 212 pages in and I forced myself to go to bed.

I dreamt about it, though.

Blackhearts is an origin story for Edward Teach, or how he’s more commonly known, Blackbeard. But in many ways, it isn’t. It’s the story of Anne (Hello, Queen Anne’s Revenge), a sixteen year old girl who’s father was a British merchant and whose mother was a slave from the West Indies. Because of this, Anne doesn’t know where she fights in, meanwhile, Edward Teach is trying to find his place in the world. It may just be, they’ll find each other at the same time.

This book is everything right now. I preordered Blacksouls (book 2) when I was still missing 100 pages to finish Blackhearts. I can’t wait to get my hands on it, because the ending left me needing more.

Anne is snarky and sassy and clever and witty. She’s strong and independent, but she’s also insecure. Every word that came out of her mouth was perfect. I laughed out loud so many times. Often, I reread things out loud just because I was so amused.

I loved this story. I enjoyed every word as I read them. I lived it. It made my heart flutter and sing. There’s a certain kind of wanderlust that’s explored in this book, and I feel its call.

Anne’s mother is from the West Indies, and Puerto Rico is included in the 7,000 islands within the West Indies. I’m hoping we get to see a little more of island life in Blacksouls.

Overall, this book was snarky fun, in the same vein as These Vicious Masks and Love, Lies and Spies with its wit.

3 thoughts on “Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

Leave a Reply

