The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes

16068910

*Throwback Thursday special. I read this in 2014 and reviewed it some time then. I read it as a paperback. This review is exactly as I posted it originally. I love it as much as I did back in 2014.

 

Firstly, I’d like to admit that I’ve had Lainey on my shelf for a while. Secondly, I’d like to admit that I hadn’t read it in the amount of time that I owned it. Lastly, I’d like to admit that I am ashamed of these first two statements.

Lainey has become one of my favorite books. It is cute. Cute like Anna and the French Kiss and the likes. I have my ‘Oh my cute’ category and Lainey is definitely in there.

Lainey Mitchell has the perfect life. She’s tall, pretty, popular, athletic, and has the best boyfriend, Jason. She has high hopes for the future-especially the near future: Summer.

But when things don’t go according to plan, and her super-hot-awesome-fantastic boyfriend breaks up with her in the worst way, Lainey will have to take matters into her own hands, go into battle, and do everything she can to win him back.

Following The Art of War, she learns what it really means to fight for what you want, even if what you want turns out to be something you weren’t expecting.

For the record, at the beginning of the novel, when Lainey and her best friend, Bianca are plotting how to win Jason over again, I told her, very loudly, that faking a relationship to make someone jealous never works out well. Did she listen? No, no she didn’t.

And so starts Lainey and Micah’s fake relationship that is hilariously disastrous and also a tiny bit perfect.

Lainey has a seriously tough summer. All her plans are destroyed in an instant, and she begins to realize that her life revolves around this one guy, and now that she doesn’t have him, who is she?

The Art of War might have a lot more to teach Lainey than she originally thought.

2 thoughts on “The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes

Leave a Reply

