Blacksouls by Nicole Castroman

 

30312562

*I read this in April and reviewed it then. I read it as a hardcover. My review of Blackhearts here. Spoilers for Blackhearts, obviously. As always, this is my honest opinion.

THIS IS A SERIES GUYS OR A TRILOGY OR SOMETHING. WHAT I MEAN IS THAT THERE’S AT LEAST ANOTHER BOOK COMING AND FOR SOME REASON I THOUGHT THIS WAS A DOULOGY AND I CAN’T EXPLAIN HOW GLAD I AM THAT I WAS WRONG.

I absolutely loved Blackhearts. Like, with all my heart, loved. I devoured it. I was worried that Blacksouls wouldn’t live up to my super high expectations, but it did.

Summary:

Edward “Teach” Drummond is setting sail to the Caribbean as first mate on the most celebrated merchant ship in the British fleet—until he rebels against his captain. Mutiny is a capital offense and Teach knows it could cost him his life, but he believes it worth the risk in order to save his crew from the attacking Spanish ships.
Sailing on the same blue waters, Anne barely avoids the Spanish attack, making it safely to Nassau. But lawless criminals, corrupt politics, and dangerous intentions fill the crowded streets of this Caribbean port. Soon, Anne discovers that the man entrusted to keep the peace is quite possibly the most treacherous of them all—and he just happens to hold Teach’s fate in his terrifying hands.
Life and death hang in the balance when Teach and Anne are given a dangerous mission. It’s a mission that will test their love, loyalty and devotion, forcing them down a path neither one could have ever imagined.

In my review of Blackhearts, I talked about how much I wanted to see the Caribbean menitioned, and I got my wish. While, I wish there would have been more descriptions of the area, Nicole Castroman got a couple of things spot on (humidity, heat, and mosquitos). It was a lot of fun seeing the story take place in islands like mine.

Obviously, Anne and Teach were perfect. I loved them throughout this novel, I loved that there was no manufactured angst, and the problems they faced they dealt with like intelligent human beings. Feelings aren’t just one dimensional, and there was a depth to their arguments.

The new characters were easy to love and root for. I can’t wait to see more of them. (Reva is particularly awesome).

This story is engaging, and you read it quickly without meaning into. Whenever I picked up the book, I was immediately sucked in. There’s a lot of snark in this book and a lot of laughs. I found myself screaming and laughing and commenting OUT LOUD like a madman. It’s definitely an experience to read one of these books.

I really loved this book. It comes back with a bang and a plot that’s impossible to put down. I cannot wait to see what happens next.

 

One thought on “Blacksouls by Nicole Castroman

Leave a Reply

