When You Don’t Finish A Series

Today, I start school after 76 days of my university being on strike (and accomplishing zero, but let’s not talk about politics). I have 3 classes on Mondays. Two of my professors haven’t even emailed an update so I have no idea how that’ll go down, but I do have a test for my history class, because apparently we need to start the semester back up with a bang!

Anyway, since I’m tired of studying and getting ready for the upcoming weeks of middle of semester hell, I’ve decided to compile all the book serieses? series? that I don’t plan on finishing.

Listed is the name of the series, author, and the next book in the series I needed to read before I stopped.

Harry Potter series by JK Rowling
Harry Potter and the Goblet of FireHPusa4_TV

I’m starting this one with a bang, aren’t I? After all the hype of Harry Potter growing up, I decided to start reading the series about two or three years ago. I struggled to get through the first three books, and with the massive volume of Goblet of Fire, I just couldn’t make myself keep going. Nothing happens until the last 20% of the books, there’s a lot of unnecessary wordage, and the first two chapters tend to be very detailed recaps of the previous book. It just became so mind numbingly dull. I just couldn’t do it.

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige
The Wicked Will Rise
18602341

I actually really enjoyed Dorothy Must Die, but I never wanted to read the second one. It just kind of slipped off of my radar and I never decided to pick it up. I guess I just lost interest.

Skylark Trilogy by Meagan Spooner
Shadowlark
11558256

Fun fact: I read the entirity of Skylark in my math class (and some other class) last semester. The professor often times went on irrelevant tangents, and it was a 7am class, so I needed something to keep me awake. Therefore, Skylark on my phone worked just fine.

Even though I love Meagan Spooner, I probably won’t finish this trilogy. It’s very steampunk and that doesn’t do it for me. Although, for when this came out, it’s pretty interesting.

An Ember in the Ashes Series (?) by Sabaa Tahir
A Torch Against the Night
25558608

I really tried, guys, I really did. But I just didn’t enjoy Ember all that much. There were so many scenes that just repeated what already happened, but in a different POV and I just couldn’t keep on reading.

Red Queen Trilogy? Series? by Victoria Aveyard
Glass Sword
Unknown

I thought Red Queen was pretty good, but then it just fell into obvlivion, and from what I’ve seen about the books online, I don’t feel the desire to continue the rest of the series.

The Firebird Trilogy by Claudia Gray
Ten Thousand Skies Above You
Ten-Thousand-Skies-Above-You199

This is another series that I was just meh about. I didn’t actively dislike it, but I didn’t absolutely love it, and wasn’t too motivated to keep going.

The Paper Magician Trilogy by Charlie N. Holmberg
The Master Magician
Unknown-1

Just really, not my cup of tea. They’re all right, but I didn’t feel the need to keep reading.

Finishing School Series by Gail Carrier
Waistcoats & Weaponry3WaistcoatsWeaponry

Once again, steampunk does not work for me. Plus this reads like middle grade but not and I was just really bored.

Half Bad Trilogy by Sally Green
Half Wild20814989

Honestly, I don’t think I even understood what was going on in Half Blood so reading the next one was out of the question.

The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Sheperd
Her Dark Curiosity9780062128065

I just…don’t…want to keep reading this one. I remember being pretty interested in the story and reading it quickly, but I just…don’t want to read anymore.

Taken Trilogy by Erin Bowman
Frozen
18089999

I really didn’t enjoy Taken all that much, so I dropped this, and yet, I really enjoyed Bowman’s other book.

The Perfectionists by Sara Shepard
The Good Girls
23171368

I don’t know why I even read the first one, but I’m not reading any more.

Insanity Series by Cameron Jace
Figment
15698596

I read Insanity during the worst class in my college career, where the professor would talk about the cosmos instead of the Iliad. The class was almost more interesting (maybe even more nonsensical) than this book.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Trilogy by Ransom Riggs
Library of Souls24120519

I liked the first two okay, but I haven’t been able to make myself read this. It’s just so…slow.

Splintered Trilogy by AG Howard
Ensnared
22447220

I just may not enjoy Alice in Wonderland retellings. Not my cup of tea (pun intended). I liked this one okay, but never wanted to finish.

Seeker Trilogy by Arwen Elys Dayton
Traveler
24690795

I actually talk about this one a lot. Seeker has everything not to do when writing a book.

Frostblood Saga by Elly Blake
Fireblood
33784283

Meh. Another okay one that I don’t think I’ll be continuing.

A Clash of Kingdoms by Erin Summerill
Ever the Brave
33413892

I read this during my Russian history class which is a disaster but hey….I need a distraction. I think I read it during music class. (Are you noticing a pattern? I don’t like a class = I read a book during it). Anyway, I really disliked this one. The plot is meh, the story drags, and I was not invested at all.

 

These are some of the series I’ve dropped over the last couple of years. There’s a lot more than I thought there would be. Maybe when I’m cramming for my other tests (so. many. tests. now.) I’ll post about my favorite series or books I want to reread. Or maybe series I haven’t finished, but do plan on finishing.

In any case, which book series have you decided to drop? Any of the ones I dropped?

Leave a Reply

