Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

31931690

*I read this in June, and reviewed it then. I read it as a hardcover. As always, my honest opinion is the one I write.

I adored Made You Up by Zappia and I could not wait to get my hands on this one. (No, seriously, ask anyone I know, I could not wait for this) Amazon took forever to ship this and I had already started it on the drive home (sneaking lines during red lights). Zappia does not disappoint.

Summary:

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.
In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

I’ve struggled for hours trying to figure out how to write this review, because nothing I write can every convey just how much I adore this book.

You know those books that reach deep down in you and show you something about yourself that you never knew? Eliza and Her Monsters did that to me.

I enjoyed reading this so, so much. As soon as I finished it, I wanted to go back to the beginning and start again, because it was just that amazingly good.

I identified so much with Eliza, with her desire to keep herself private, to her inability to deal with social intractions, to her later problems. As a writer, I understood Eliza’s passion about her art, about her struggle when motivation and inspiration is gone. Eliza’s inner monologue, her panic, her feeling of being watched, was almost painful to read, because it’s was like reading about me.

This book is so brilliantly written. The comic panels at the end of chapters really brought it together. I looked forward to it (More so than I looked forward to the Simon scenes in Fangirl). This book made me all mushy on the inside.

It deals with so many real issues that it’s hard to even tackle them without giving away too much of the plot. But, trust me, it deals with a lot. An action by one of the characters nearly broke me simply because I know how I’d act if it was done to me, because it has happened to me, and seeing Eliza overcome her monsters was so encouraging.

I cannot do this book justice. I’ll probably reread it soon because there’s so much I enjoyed. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys to read. This book is wonderful.

2 thoughts on “Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

Leave a Reply

