Trusting You and Other Lies by Nicole Williams

32441709

*I read this book in March-April 2017 and reviewed it then. I read it as an arc. As always, this is my honest opinion.

I am a sucker for summer love. So, it shouldn’t come as much of a surprise to say I loved this one.

Summary:

Phoenix can’t imagine anything worse than being shipped off to family summer camp. Her parents have been fighting for the past two years—do they seriously think being crammed in a cabin with Phoenix and her little brother, Harry, will make things better?

On top of that, Phoenix is stuck training with Callum—the head counselor who is seriously cute but a complete know-it-all. His hot-cold attitude means he’s impossible to figure out—and even harder to rely on. But despite her better judgment, Phoenix is attracted to Callum. And he’s promising Phoenix a summer she’ll never forget. Can she trust him? Or is this just another lie?

I just had so much for reading this. It’s very summery, very light even as it deals with serious topics. I automatically want to read anything that sells itself for fans of Stephanie Perkins (usually to my disappointment, because, no, because the book isn’t anything like Anna and the French Kiss), so my expectations were pretty high, and this book met them.

The summer camp vibe was real. It reminded me off all the times I’ve been a camp counselor, even if  I never did hiking and rafting. If you’ve ever been to a summer camp, you’d feel at home in this setting.

Phoenix was great. I loved her relationship with her little brother. I love how she felt she needed to take care of everything and couldn’t mistake. I identified so much with Phoenix. She sets the standard so high that no one can reach it, not even herself, and she can’t handle screwing up. I loved seeing the world through her eyes, possibly, because it’s so like how I see mine.

I adored that everyone was patient with her as she dealt with things and grew. They were reassuring and supportive and let her know it. The story resounded with me, making me realize just how often I’m prone to think like Phoenix, how often I have people treat me in the way that Ben, Harry, and Callum do, with patience and second chances.

Speaking of Callum, oh dayum. Talk about swoons. I loved his character, I loved his highs and lows, his frustrations and expectations and everything in between.

The family dynamic in this book was dealt with in a way that felt real. It reminded me the tiniest bit of the family dynamic in Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson (without the sadness, holy cow, no sadness here). Pheonix’s frustrations toward her parents aren’t ungrounded, and I think the book dealt with it spectacularly.

Sometimes, we need to give second chances, even to ourselves, before we can really move on and grow.

My only complaint was the lack of scenes with the other counselors. They’re introduced and come out a few times, but I wish I could have seen Phoenix befriend them as well.

Trusting You and Other Lies was fun, but also deep. It got me thinking about my own life, about my own trust issues. It’s a summer romance, but it’s also something to pick your brain.

Leave a Reply

