I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo

31145133

*I read this June 2017, and I reviewed it then. I read it as a paperback. As always, this is my honest review.

Disclaimer: I was hesitant to pick up this book because everybody, and I mean EVERYBODY pitched as “if you like Kdramas…” and honestly, I’ve never seen Kdramas, I saw half of a Jdrama (yes, I know they’re different), and the little I know about kdramas, I know I am not a fan. However, this book is sweet and enjoyable if you don’t like kdramas.

Summary:

Desi Lee believes anything is possible if you have a plan. That’s how she became student body president. Varsity soccer star. And it’s how she’ll get into Stanford. But—she’s never had a boyfriend. In fact, she’s a disaster in romance, a clumsy, stammering humiliation magnet whose botched attempts at flirting have become legendary with her friends. So when the hottest human specimen to have ever lived walks into her life one day, Desi decides to tackle her flirting failures with the same zest she’s applied to everything else in her life. She finds guidance in the Korean dramas her father has been obsessively watching for years—where the hapless heroine always seems to end up in the arms of her true love by episode ten. It’s a simple formula, and Desi is a quick study. Armed with her “K Drama Steps to True Love,” Desi goes after the moody, elusive artist Luca Drakos—and boat rescues, love triangles, and staged car crashes ensue. But when the fun and games turn to true feels, Desi finds out that real love is about way more than just drama.

I liked Desi all right. But there were several times were I genuinely had trouble with her character (and exteme actions that no sane human being would do) and that made my rating go from a solid 4.5 to a 3.5. Desi does some questionable things, which is great, but they didn’t feel realistic and really distracted me from truly getting into the story.

There were moments of complete secondhand embarrassment. Like, literal putting the book down because I could not deal with the embarassment. This book was cute and enjoyable.

The whole plot reminded me a little of The Art of Lainey, with the girl trying to get the guy by making a list of steps to take. However, they’re different enough to not feel repetative.

I especially loved the relationship between Desi and her dad. It was super sweet and charming, and I loved it whenever they had a moment, and there quite a few of those. Obviously, Luca is great.There were a couple of characters that felt strange, literally just there to exist and had no line of dialogue, even when in a group of people having a conversation.

Overall, there were a couple of things that felt neglected within the story, but over all, this was a cute, enjoyable, fun, and quick read that might tempt you to watch a couple of kdramas in your free time.

4 thoughts on “I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo

  1. I definitely agree with you about some of Desi’s actions just not being super realistic, and drawing you out of the story. I ended up rating this read 3.5 as well mostly due to that.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

    1. Hi! Your blog is super adorable! And you have way more comment interaction than I do, so I think whatever you’re doing is working great! Be consistent in posting and reading and I think you’ll do well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

