The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

15993203*I started this around March and put it down because I couldn’t focus on it. I picked it up again in June and finished it then. I read it as a hardcover. As always, this is my honest opinion.

A lot of people told me I’d love this one because I love These Vicious Masks and Love, Lies, and Spies, so I was super excited to get into this. But when I struggled at the beginning and read it during class, I worried.

Summary:

London, April 1812. On the eve of eighteen-year-old Lady Helen Wrexhall’s presentation to the queen, one of her family’s housemaids disappears-and Helen is drawn into the shadows of Regency London. There, she meets Lord Carlston, one of the few who can stop the perpetrators: a cabal of demons infiltrating every level of society. Dare she ask for his help, when his reputation is almost as black as his lingering eyes? And will her intelligence and headstrong curiosity wind up leading them into a death trap?

This is a strange book to review, because on one hand, I struggled to read it for the first 300 pages. There’s a lot of dress describing, not enough action. Helen is said to be very witty, but she’s not snarky, and I found her dull at times. The chemistry between Carlston and Helen was nonexistant. I don’t much care for Carlston, and was kind of rooting for the other guy.

This book is long, and it feels long. There’s so much descriptions of dresses and parties, and so many names to keep track of. For a book about demon fighters, there’s very little demon fighting. But at the same time, there’s barely any romance so what happened in these 473 pages???

However, I really enjoyed the end, when (you guessed it) demon fighting happened! It was brief, but it was great. I kind of want to read the second book now, just to see.

This book was 3.5 stars for me, because the story is solid, even if it didn’t hold my attention. The story itself is interesting, but I wanted more action, more romance, and less mundane origin story. And yet, the end made it a 4 star read, if only, because the end was great.

One thought on “The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

Leave a Reply

