Those Girls by Lauren Saft

18249315.jpgI read only 10% of this before I stopped reading it. I read it as part of my arc catch up challenge. I read it as an arc. As always, this is my honest opinion.

I’ve never dnfed a book as fast as I dnfed this one. From the first 2% I was done, but I forced myself to get to my required 10% (albiet by skimming) and boy no.

Summary:

Junior year, the suburbs of Philadelphia. Alex, Mollie and Veronica are those girls: they’re the best of friends and the party girls of the school. But how well does everybody know them–and really, how well do they know one another? Alex is secretly in love with the boy next door and has joined a band–without telling anyone. Mollie suffers from a popular (and possibly sociopathic) boyfriend, as well as a serious mean streak. And Veronica just wants to be loved–literally, figuratively, physically….she’s not particular. Will this be the year that bonds them forever….or tears them apart for good?
Lauren Saft masterfully conveys what goes on in the mind of a teenage girl, and her debut novel is raw, honest, hilarious, and thought-provoking, with a healthy dose of heart.

I love the last line of this summary about what goes on in the mind of a teenaged girl…and I don’t know what teenage girl she’s talking about because I’ve never met anyone like these three girls.

Reading about terrible people can be okay at times. I read Courtney Summers’ Some Girls Are and while it will never be a favorite, I understood what it was trying to convey. These girls in this novel are just shallow and terrible and there was no redemption. I hated them from the get go and it was okay because they hated each other too.

It was just very flat and pointless, and shallow and everyone is a terrible person and everyone is talking about screwing everyone else, and really, there a lot of good books out there, and I don’t want to spend time reading bad ones.

Leave a Reply

