The Book Jumper by Mechthild Gläser

29102939.jpg

*I read this in June 2017 and reviewed it then. I read it as an arc. Always, this is my honest opinion.

Oh, boy, where to begin? Why is that the pretiest covers are always the biggest liars?

Summary:

Amy Lennox doesn’t know quite what to expect when she and her mother pick up and leave Germany for Scotland, heading to her mother’s childhood home of Lennox House on the island of Stormsay.
Amy’s grandmother, Lady Mairead, insists that Amy must read while she resides at Lennox House—but not in the usual way. Amy learns that she is a book jumper, able to leap into a story and interact with the world inside. As thrilling as Amy’s new power is, it also brings danger: someone is stealing from the books she visits, and that person may be after her life. Teaming up with fellow book jumper Will, Amy vows to get to the bottom of the thefts—at whatever the cost.

This reads as a terrible middle grade with foul language. It doesn’t feel like a book you’d sell in the YA section of a bookstore. It’s flat, unimaginative, and just kind of boring. I DNFed at 300 pages, but truth be told, the last 150 were so thoroughly skimmed through that it was like I hadn’t even read them.

never give books 1 star, even books I greatly disliked. There’s always some redeeming quality, or a way I can justify at least 2 stars. But I ran out of patience with this book, because the concept was okay, but it was misused. This book had so much potential. So. much. potential. and it squanders it in the most meanial plot ever and just…kills any excitement.

I mean? Jumping in books? Hanging out with book characters? SIGN ME UP! But this was so superficial and bland that I didn’t care about anything that happened. It was also so over the top and ridiculous at times. Things have no correlation to each other, there’s a froced romance, the main character is just strange?

I’m honestly so disappointed, because I was very excited for this one, but I guess I’ll have to wait for the ultimate book lover’s book.

3 thoughts on “The Book Jumper by Mechthild Gläser

  1. I’m so.. boo.. to read that this book isn’t getting good reviews. As you, I was really looking forward to reading this but I’ve seen way too many bad reviews on this by now. I don’t think I’m going to pick it up.
    Mostly I’ll just doubt and see if I can borrow it from the library but.. Maybe if there are some good reviews popping up all of a sudden and I get the urge to discover for myself. Doubt that’ll happen though. :’)

    Thanks for the review!

    Like

    1. Every time I think about this book, I get sad, because I wanted it to be good so badly! It might be due to the translation process, I don’t know. If you do end up reading it, I’d love to hear your thoughts on it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

