A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery

18484795*I read this in July 2017 and reviewed it then. I read this as part of my arc catch up challenge. I read this as an arc, and as always, this is my honest opinion.

So, I’ve had this book for a while and hadn’t given it a chance. But I started it today and couldn’t stop reading.

Summary:

When high school senior Kelsey’s identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn’t know about the tragedy is Michelle’s boyfriend, Peter, recently deployed to Afghanistan. But when Kelsey finally connects with Peter online, she can’t bear to tell him the truth. Active duty has taken its toll, and Peter, thinking that Kelsey is Michelle, says that seeing her is the one thing keeping him alive. Caught up in the moment, Kelsey has no choice: She lets Peter believe that she is her sister.
As Kelsey keeps up the act, she crosses the line from pretend to real. Soon, Kelsey can’t deny that she’s falling, hard, for the one boy she shouldn’t want.

You know how sometimes you just know something is going to backfire and turn into a total train wreck, but you keep watching because you know it’ll be an entertaining train wreck? A Million Miles Away is like that.

Obviously, this plot is predictable, you just know it’s all going to backfire, but you enjoy the ride. I was surprised just how involved I got into the story. I felt the pain Kelsey losing her sister and dealing with that grief. Her actions don’t seem over the top or ridiculous, they seem…in a way, justifiable. There’s so much hurt and she finds a way for it to be a little bit better.

I think this book had a lot of good going for it. It has emotional depth and heart, the love story is cute and the worries and struggles are there and you feel them and it hurts but there’s also hope.

There’s always hope.

This is a quick read, my kindle says it only took me 2 and a half hours to read. It’s light and almost a fluffy read, but it deals with some heavy things and it deals with them well.

One thought on “A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery

Leave a Reply

