The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

25203675*I read this in March of 2017, reviewed in April. I read it as an ebook. As always, this is my honest opinion.

Oh, beautiful book covers, why do you betray me so?

Summary:

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…
But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

You guys don’t understand how much I wanted to love this one. I’ve heard so many great things about it, that I thought I would love it. As it stands, I liked it, I enjoyed most of it, but it fell flat for me. This review might get kind of spoilery.

The story was what killed it for me, and Amar. Amar always read off as creepy to me, I legit thought he was going to be evil or something. Even when it was obvious that they were star-crossed lovers (*snort*…guys I made a pun), I felt like there was something off about him.

I think the elements of the story were interesting, but if I wanted to read about fantastical creatures, I could have read Daughter of Smoke and Bone. There was never a moment when I was hooked entirely in the story.

I liked Maya in the beginning, I was interested in the way her family treated her, but once she was in Akaran, she kind of fell flat for me. Especially when the big reveal came at the end, I just kind of rolled my eyes and hoped I would finish soon. This book kind-of, sort-of reminded me of Sarah J Maas’ A Court of Mist and Fury, and that is not a good thing. (I really, really, really disliked ACOMAF).

My interest kind of fizzled out as the story progressed. I mean, my favorite part of the whole book was the dang horse.

Again, I didn’t hate this book, but I didn’t love it. It was just kind of…there.

3 thoughts on “The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

    1. I was worried about posting this because so many people loved it and I’m just indifferent. But yes, the plot holes were too many to ignore. The horse reminded me a bit of the sword in the old Dave the Barbarian cartoon, to be honest.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

