There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

15797848

I read this as an ARC in August 2017 as part of #ARCAugust. I reviewed it then. As always, this is my honest review.

I absolutely adore Stephanie Perkins’ contemporary love stories (St. Clair is my deam boy), so while I don’t read horror or suspense usually, I gave this a shot.

Summary:

It’s been almost a year since Makani Young came to live with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska, and she’s still adjusting to her new life. And still haunted by her past in Hawaii.
One-by-one, the students of Osborne High are dying in a series of gruesome murders, each with increasing and grotesque flair. As the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, the dark secrets among them must finally be confronted.

I can’t say if this is a good and unique horror story, because I don’t know enough of the genre to say. However, the story kept me engaged the entire time and I sincerely debated staying up late reading it. Also, I couldn’t figure out the twists, so I guess that’s a good thing to.

As it stands, Perkins can probably make me fall in love with a pringles can. The love story in this book isn’t the focus, but it’s still there and it makes me happy, because love stories are my thing.

The progression of this story is quick and enteraining. Things actually happened and the stakes were raised. It’s a short read, and I think that works best.

I was not a fan of the ending. It’s abrupt and I have so many questions. That’s why this is a 4 star read for me. I could have done with an epilogue or something.

Seriously, I have questions.

Overall, this book is short, fun, and will occasionally make your hair stand on end. You’ll want to know what happens, who’s at fault, who’s next…which is exactly what this book attempts to do.

Leave a Reply

